Skip directly to content

Maine Writers and Publishers Alliance Announces Literary Award Winners

on Fri, 06/01/2012 - 16:25


2012 Maine Literary Awards 

Book Award for Fiction 
Sarah Braunstein 
The Sweet Relief of Missing Children 

Book Award for Crime Fiction 
Paul Doiron 

Book Award for Nonfiction 
Colin Woodard 
American Nations 

John N. Cole Award for Maine-themed Nonfiction 
Carl Little 
Eric Hopkins: Above and Beyond 

Book Award for Memoir 
Susan Conley 
The Foremost Good Fortune 

Book Award for Poetry 
Preston H. Hood 
The Hallelujah of Listening 

Book Award for Young Adult 
Donn Fendler with co-author Lynn Plourde 
Lost Trail 

Book Award for Children’s 
Barbara Walsh 
Sammy in the Sky 

Book Award for Speculative Fiction 
Eric Dimbleby 
Please Don’t Go 

Anthology Book Award  
Add Verb Productions for 
Out & Allied: An Anthology of Performing Pieces 
written by LGBTQ Youth and Allies 

Excellence in Publishing Award 
Alice James Books for 
Shara McCallum’s 
This Strange Land 

Drama Award 
Delvyn C. Case, Jr. 

Short Works Competition: Fiction 
Lesley Heiser 

Short Works Competition: Nonfiction 
Deborah Cummins 

Short Works Competition: Poetry 
David Sloan 

Youth Competition: Fiction 
Tess Hinchman 

Youth Competition: Nonfiction 
Mary Noyes 

Youth Competition: Poetry 
Phoebe Clewley

Second Annual Award For Distinguished Achievement
Jennifer Bunting of Tilbury House, Publishers

Please contact the MWPA with questions or for more information: 
207-228-8263 or