Skip directly to content

Book Reviewers

 

BOOK REVIEWERS
 

Note: Read guidelines carefully about the kinds of books each of these reviewers considers and about whether they want advance review copies or only finished books.

American Book Review: http://americanbookreview.org

Booklist: http://booklistonline.com

Bookslut: http://bookslut.com

ForeWord Magazine: http://forewordmagazine.com

Kirkus Reviews: www.kirkusreviews.com

Library Journal: www.libraryjournal.com

NewPages: http://newpages.com

Publishers Weekly: www.publishersweekly.com

Rain Taxi: http://raintaxi.com/reviewer.shtml

Women’s Review of Books: http://www.wcwonline.org/Women-s-Review-of-Books/womens-review-of-books

Magazines that have published your work. (Check first to see if they review books.)

Newspapers. NewPages maintains a list of major newspaper review sections at http://newpages.com/npguides/reviews.htm.

See www.50states.com/news or www.world-newspapers.com for listings of newspapers by state.

Deb Baker reviews in "The Mindful Reader" for the Concord Monitor, in both print and the Concord Monitor website (http://www.concordmonitor.com), and the reviews are also posted on her blog, Bookconscious, http://bookconscious.wordpress.com. Writers are welcome to send queries to mindfulreader@yahoo.com, keeping in mind that the column is planned two to three months in advance.

The Book Blogger Directory (https://bookbloggerdirectory.wordpress.com) gives a comprehensive listing of book bloggers/reviewers including A-Z listings and by genre.

Broad Universe NetGalley Program (http://broaduniverse.org/reach-book-reviewers).  NetGalley is the largest site for connecting reviewers, librarians, and booksellers.  It can very costly for individual authors/books ($225-$400), but there are several author collaboratives, including Broad Universe, that provide access for much less. Through Broad Universe any author can post a book to NetGalley for $45 per book per month (no limit on genre, author gender, or book's publication date so can be used for backlist titles as well as upcoming titles).

Goodreads.  There are many groups on Goodreads that offer reviews in either a direct or exchange format.  Search for ones that best fit your work.

Do you know of another resource for getting books reviewed that you think we should include? Send the information to info@nhwritersproject.org.